daryl noon

Chief of Police

Daryl Noon oversees the operation of Navajo Police Department which is the largest tribal law enforcement agency in the United States. His departments’ jurisdiction covers 27,000 square miles in the three different states and services a population of over 178,000. He is responsible for over 205 commissioned officers and over 100 civilian support staff, including police dispatchers.

Noon is Honágháahnii born for Bilagaana. He was born in Fort Defiance, Arizona, and grew up in Shiprock, New Mexico. Chief Noon graduated from Shiprock High School and briefly attended Eastern New Mexico University and San Juan College before beginning his law enforcement career in 1995 with the Farmington Police Department.

Chief of Police Noon began his career as a Booking Officer and later applied to become a Farmington Police Department officer. He was promoted to Sergeant in 2004, Lieutenant in 2009, Captain in 2016, and Deputy Chief in 2017.

Chief of Police joined the Navajo Police Department in January 2019.


Ronald Silversmith

Deputy Chief of Police

Deputy Chief of Police Ronald Silversmith (Deputy Chief) is a member of the Navajo Tribe and is of the Ma’ii Deeshgiizhnii (Coyote Pass-Jemez Pueblo) clan and born for Kinyaa’aanii (Towering House). Silversmith is originally from Navajo Station/Cornfields, Arizona.

Deputy Chief Silversmith attended Ganado High School and graduated with Class of 1983. He also attended Diné College and earned an Associates of Arts in Business Management and a Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. In 1985, he joined the Navajo Police Department to begin his law enforcement career and graduated with Basic Recruit Class 26 from the Navajo Police Training Academy in 1986.

Throughout his 38 years of service with the department, he served as a Patrolman and Patrol Sergeant with Window Rock District, and as an Internal Affairs Investigator (Sergeant) and Commander (Lieutenant) with the Department of Internal Affairs. In 2017, he was promoted to the rank of Police Captain and served as the Central Area Commander, consisting of three Navajo Police Districts: Chinle, Dilkon & Window Rock.

In 2022, Silversmith was selected for promotion to Deputy Chief of Police to oversee field operations for the Navajo Police Department by the current Chief of Police, Chief Daryl Noon.

Area Commanders


Commander Felicia Williams

Chinle/dilkon Police Districts
** Central Area Commmand **

Commander Donnie Kee

Shiprock/Crownpoint Police Districts
** Eastern Area Commmand **

Commander Martin Page

Kayenta/Tuba City Police Districts
** Western Area Commmand **

Commander Leonard Williams

auxiliary service section
** Special Operations Command **

Commander Emmett Yazzie

Auxiliary Services Section

deputy chief Leonard Redhorse III

Professional Standards Division/Auxiliary Services Section

District Lieutenants


Lt. Netty Etsitty

navajo police training academy

Lt. Shirley Sanisya

Shiprock District

Lt. Wendell Bitselley

Crownpoint District

Lt. Fabian Thinn

Tuba City District

Lt. Byron Coolie

Chinle District

Lt. Kim Yazzie

Kayenta District

Lt. David Butler

Dilkon District

Contact Us



Get Social

Terms Of UsePrivacy StatementCopyright 2024 by NNDIT
Back To Top